Home Forums Noticings… 200527 – An Anniversary

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    office
    Keymaster

Noticings…

May 27, 2020

This Friday is a momentous day for me. On Friday May 29th I will celebrate the 15th anniversary of my ordination. Fifteen years is not a lot in comparison to some. I have great friends who are currently celebrating 20 and 30 years of ministry leadership this month. (Ordinations and Commissionings generally happen in late May.) This particular anniversary is significant for me not because of the number but because of what it represents. You see, before I was a minister I had a career as a high school music teacher. I did that job for – you guessed it – 15 years. That means as of this Friday I will officially have been a minister for as long as I was a music teacher – and as of Saturday, longer. So I’ve been reflecting on that, and the shift in my career, and the evolution of my professional identity.

One reason I’m noticing this is because my wife is starting to ponder retiring when she becomes eligible this fall. It’s reminded me that had I stayed teaching all this time I would be retired by now! I fondly remember teaching, and on the occasional day I miss it, but my identity is firmly rooted in ministry now and I can’t imagine ‘hanging up the skates’. I cannot even begin to fathom what that would be like. In so many ways I feel like, at fifteen years in, I’m in my prime (as it were), well, at least theologically. Changing careers has meant that I will need to work another ten or so years before I can retire. I’m good with that. I serve at the pleasure of the Church.